Saudi Arabia Adds 6 New Countries to eVisa Program

| Post by

The Ministry of Tourism of Saudi Arabia has announced the expansion of the Saudi eVisa program to 6 additional nationalities.

Travelers from the following countries can now obtain a tourist visa for Saudi Arabia online:

  • Mauritius
  • Panama
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Türkiye

“The Kingdom welcomes the world by expanding and streamlining the E-visa issuance to six new countries,” the Ministry announced on X. It allows “electronic issuance or at Kingdom entry points, to provide an unforgettable travel experience”.

The new additions mean that the number of nationalities eligible for the eVisa is now over 60. Citizens of countries including Australia, Canada, Japan, the UK, and the US are already able to submit their applications online.

Additionally, the eVisa is available to holders of current Schengen, UK, and US visas that were used to enter those nations before arriving in Saudi Arabia. Permanent residents of the US, the UK, and other EU and Gulf Cooperation Council nations, are also eligible to apply.

The Saudi eVisa is a multiple-entry tourist visa that allows the holder a 90-day stay with each entry to the Kingdom. It’s valid for a full year from the day of approval.

Saudi Arabia Adds 6 New Countries to eVisa Program

Saudi Arabia Hopes eVisa Expansion Will Boost Tourism

This new amendment of the Saudi Arabia visa policy is part of the push to reach the goals of the Kingdom’s Vision 2030 initiative. These include boosting income gained from tourist arrivals and providing 1 million job opportunities in the Saudi tourism sector.

The introduction of the Saudi eVisa in September 2019 for 49 nationalities proved to be a massive boon. Around 93 percent more visitors traveled to Saudi Arabia in 2022 than in 2021, and SR185 billion ($49 billion) was spent on tourism during the year.

Saudi Arabia is already well on its way to reaching its 2030 target of 100 million visitors. Travel and tourism now make up 4.5 percent of Saudi Arabia’s GDP, up from 3 percent in the previous year. By 2030, the tourism industry is expected to account for 10% of GDP.

Additionally, the Tourism Ministry plans to expand the list of countries whose nationals are eligible for the tourist eVisa in tandem with the expansion of the Kingdom’s tourism industry infrastructure.

In addition to allowing tourist travel to the Kingdom, the Saudi online visa permits holders to visit friends and relatives, and attend events, exhibitions, and conferences.

Travelers can also perform Umrah outside the Hajj season with the eVisa

New eVisa Policy Facilities Hajj and Umrah Travel for Turkish Citizens

Tawfiq bin Fawzan Al-Rabia, the Saudi Minister of Hajj and Umrah, pointed out that the addition of Türkiye to the eVisa program “provides great facilities for Turkish citizens wishing to visit the holy lands. ”

Al-Rabia expressed his belief that the eVisa will facilitate religious pilgrimage at a news conference in Ankara alongside Ali Erbas, the head of Türkiye’s Directorate of Religious Affairs.

He also stressed talks with the Turkish government are currently ongoing “to provide better services for Turkish citizens wishing to visit the cities of Mecca and Medina.”

Al-Rabiah also stated that, as the result of the new visa policy, the number of flights between Türkiye and Saudi Arabia will rise. “Saudi airlines will increase their flights starting this week,” he added.

Saudia, the country’s flag carrier, will add 100 new flights to Jeddah and Medina during the Umrah season, Al-Rabiah said. Flynas, a private Saudi airline, will also now offer direct flights from Ankara to Jeddah.

Related News

  • Instant Saudi e-Visa Launched for UK, US, and Schengen Visa Holders

    Saudi Arabia has unveiled a new instant e-Visa scheme for UK, US, and Schengen visa holders. These categories of travelers can now get a Saudi electronic visa if they have used the existing visa to enter the issuing country at least once. The eVisa for Saudi Arabia will also be available to permanent residents of

    Read full article
  • The Tourism Ministry of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) has announced that legal residents of Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries can now apply for a Saudi electronic visa regardless of profession. In September 2022, Saudi Arabia opened the eVisa application to GCC residents who worked in select occupations. However, this requirement has now been

    Read full article
  • Saudi Arabia Opens eVisa to GCC Residents

    Residents of Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries can now apply for a Saudi Arabia visa online, following the announcement from the country’s Ministry of Tourism. The Saudi Arabia eVisa, or electronic visa, can be obtained by filling in a short online form. GCC residents can now use the digital platform to get a visa to

    Read full article
  • Saudi Arabia Launches e-visa Service for Cruise Tourists

    Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) has introduced a new e-visa for tourists arriving by cruise ship. The new travel document will allow international visitors to easily enter Saudi Arabia by sea, if they are traveling with an organized cruise. On 2 January 2022, the Foreign Ministry made an announcement on its Twitter page

    Read full article