Devi Ahilyabai International Airport Now Accepts India e-Visas

| Post by

Indore’s Devi Ahilyabai International Airport has started accepting electronic visas for India (e-Visas), fulfilling a long-standing demand from travelers.

The move, announced by Shankar Lalwani, the representative for the Bharatiya Janata Party for Indore Lok Sabha, is expected to streamline the entry process for foreign visitors and boost tourism.

“I am happy to inform you that the approval has been granted for acceptance of e-Visas at the Devi Ahilyabai International Airport,” Lalwani told reporters at a press conference on December 29, 2023.

Demand for the acceptance of e-Visas has increased since the first international flight from Indore to Dubai was introduced on July 15, 2019.

Lalwani said that the absence of e-Visa approval at the airport had previously led to several instances where international passengers with an e-Visa were denied entry through Indore. They then had to return to Dubai.

He explained that this has now been remedied. Travelers with an approved Indian electronic visa can now enter the airport using the “Digi Yatra” facility. 

Devi Ahilyabai International Airport Now Accepts India e-Visas

About Devi Ahilyabai International Airport

Devi Ahilyabai International Airport, named after the revered 18th-century Holkar queen, is a significant gateway in Central India. It has been instrumental in connecting Indore with major domestic and international destinations.

Indore is the commercial capital of Madhya Pradesh. It is in close proximity to various tourist attractions such as the ancient city of Ujjain, the scenic hill station of Pachmarhi, and the Bhimbetka rock shelters UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Indore’s airport’s move to accept e-Visas aligns with its progressive approach to incorporate modern facilities. This includes the “Digi Yatra” initiative for seamless, contactless airport entry using Facial Recognition Technology (FRT).

The introduction of e-Visa facilities also coincides with the airport’s efforts to expand its international connectivity with plans for new international flights. This could potentially begin with a route connecting Indore with Thailand.

Complete List of Ports of Entry that Accept the India e-Visa

India offers e-Visa facilities at several entry points across the country. These include the following major airports:

  • Ahmedabad
  • Amritsar
  • Bagdogra
  • Bangalore
  • Bhubaneswar
  • Calicut
  • Chennai
  • Chandigarh
  • Cochin
  • Coimbatore
  • Delhi
  • Gaya
  • Goa (Mopa)
  • Goa (Dabolim)
  • Guwahati
  • Hyderabad
  • Jaipur
  • Kannur
  • Kolkata
  • Lucknow
  • Madurai
  • Mangalore
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Port Blair
  • Pune
  • Tiruchirapalli
  • Trivandrum
  • Varanasi
  • Visakhapatnam

The e-Visa is also accepted for entry at Chennai, Cochin, Goa, Mangalore and Mumbai seaports. However, holders of an electronic visa can leave India through any of the authorized Immigration Check Posts (ICPs) in the country.

The inclusion of Indore’s Devi Ahilyabai International Airport on this list further strengthens the network of ports of entry accepting the India e-Visa, offering greater flexibility and options for international travelers.

The introduction of the Indian e-Visa has revolutionized travel to India for over 170 different nationalities. The streamlined online application removes the need to visit an embassy in person, and the approved visa permits multiple entries to India.