Morocco Expands e-Visa to More Nationalities

| Post by

The Kingdom of Morocco has added more eligible countries to its new e-Visa system.

The Morocco electronic visa was launched in 2022 to facilitate faster and easier travel for citizens of over 100 nations. Passport holders of these countries can now apply for a short-stay visa for Morocco completely online.

The new immigration system is also expected to boost Morocco’s tourism industry. Many visitors will now be able to get a visa without having to visit an embassy or consulate—a process which most travelers like to avoid.

The e-Visa for Morocco allows visitors to enter the country for tourism or business purposes and stay for up to 30 days. The visa is valid for 180 days from the date of approval, giving the holder significant time to use their visa before it expires.

Morocco’s move to an electronic visa scheme is part of the country’s move towards digitalizing public administration services, with a particular focus on diplomatic and consular missions.

Morocco Expands e-Visa to More Nationalities

Which Nationalities Are Now Eligible for the Morocco e-Visa?

The most recent countries to be added to the list of eligible passport holders are Azerbaijan, Guatemala, India, and Jordan

Initially, just 49 countries were eligible for the Morocco e-Visa, however this number quickly grew to over 100.

The 4 new nationalities were already eligible for an online visa, but with specific document requirements. Now, citizens of these countries can apply using just their passport, along with Israeli and Thai citizens.

Document requirements for certain nationalities

Morocco’s e-Visa platform was launched with specific document requirements for applicants. 

Currently, travelers from the following nations do not need additional paperwork and can apply using just their passport:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Guatemala
  • India
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Thailand

All other eligible applicants must have their passport plus either: a residence permit from Australia, Canada, a European Union Member State, Japan, United Kingdom, United States, New Zealand, Norway, or Switzerland; OR a visa from Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, a Schengen country, United Kingdom, or the United States.

Will more countries be added to Morocco’s e-Visa policy?

The Moroccan Government has been expanding its e-Visa service since it was introduced in 2022. It is expected that more nations will become eligible in the coming months.

Travelers are advised to check Morocco’s visa policy regularly for updates.