ETIAS Application Form

In 2024, visitors to the Schengen Area will need to register with the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS). This simply means filling in the short ETIAS application form online.

The registration process is designed to be quick and easy. It will take a matter of minutes to apply for the ETIAS visa waiver.

Since this travel authorization will soon become a requirement for passengers from visa waiver countries traveling to Europe, it is important to know how to apply for ETIAS.

ETIAS Application Process

The entire ETIAS application process is done 100% online. There is no need to visit any embassy or consulate belonging to a European country to deal with paperwork in person.

Travelers will need to register with the ETIAS platform to visit any of the countries in the Schengen Area without a visa. This rule will come into effect in 2024.

To apply for ETIAS, travelers must complete the following steps:

  • Complete the ETIAS registration form using a device connected to the internet
  • Provide the required items, including a valid passport and an email address
  • Use a debit or credit card to cover the small ETIAS processing fee

The application process for ETIAS is expected to take just a few minutes. You will not need any supporting documentation apart from a valid passport issued by an eligible country.

How to Apply for an ETIAS

The ETIAS authorization form is a short questionnaire that must be completed online.

To apply, simply enter the required details into the relevant fields of the form. This information is expected to include the following sections:

  • Basic personal details
  • Contact information
  • Passport information
  • Questions relating to travel, health, and security

The required personal information will include:

  • Name
  • Date of birth
  • Nationality

Contact information will include an email address. This is important as all correspondence regarding the ETIAS will be delivered here, including confirmation that your visa waiver has been approved.

You will have to enter the following passport details:

  • Passport number
  • Country of issue
  • Expiry date

Once you have completed the ETIAS form, you will be prompted to pay a small processing fee. You can then submit your ETIAS online application.

Apply for ETIAS
  • Complete the quick ETIAS form online
  • Pay ETIAS and processing fees
  • Submit the application for screening
Receive your ETIAS Travel Authorization
  • Receive the result of your ETIAS application by emailç
    • In the majority of cases, you will receive an Approved ETIAS
    • In the rare case that the ETIAS is denied, you will receive further information by email
  • The ETIAS visa waiver will be electronically linked to the registered passport
  • It is advisable to also print a copy of the ETIAS confirmation
Travel to the Schengen Area with ETIAS
  • You will need an approved ETIAS visa waiver before boarding a flight to Europe
  • Your ETIAS will be verified upon arrival at the border control of the first Schengen country you arrived in
  • The ETIAS will be read when your passport is scanned. It is also advisable to have a printed copy to show if asked

Who Needs to Apply for ETIAS?

Citizens of countries that are exempt from needing a visa for the Schengen Area will need to apply for the ETIAS visa waiver.

The Schengen Area is a region of Europe made up of countries, including France, Spain, Germany, Italy, Greece, Switzerland, and Sweden, among others. 23 of the Schengen countries are also members of the European Union (EU), while the remaining 4 are members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

The 26 Schengen members share a common visa policy for visitors.

Citizens of certain countries, including the US, Canada, Australia, and Japan, may visit the Schengen Area visa-free. In 2024, they will need to register with ETIAS to continue to enjoy the benefits of visa-free travel.

All of the eligible countries can be found below.

Countries eligible for ETIAS

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macau
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • United Kingdom


ETIAS Application Questions

  • How long does it take to obtain an ETIAS authorization?

    It will take just a few minutes to complete the ETIAS visa application and submit it for processing.

    The ETIAS system is not yet live. Once it is launched, it is expected that applications will be processed very quickly. You should receive confirmation of your travel authorization within a few business days at most.

  • When should you complete the ETIAS form?

    It is advisable to complete the ETIAS form for Europe in good time before the trip. Once approved, the visa waiver will be valid for 3 years, so there is no problem with registering a month or more before you plan to go.

    Travelers are advised not to apply less than 3 days before the journey to the Schengen Area.

  • What documents do I need to complete the ETIAS online application form?

    To register with ETIAS, you will need to have a valid passport issued by one of the visa-exempt countries. Your passport must be valid for at least 3 months after you arrive in the Schengen Area.

  • What to do if my ETIAS application is denied?

    The most likely reason for travel authorization to be denied is that there were errors or inconsistencies in the information provided by the applicant. If this could be the case, you are advised to simply reapply for the ETIAS by filling out the online form again.

    Take care when typing your answers and double-check all the information before submitting the form.

    If your passport is valid for less than 3 months after you are due to arrive in the Schengen Area, the ETIAS may be rejected on these grounds. In this case, renew your passport before applying.

    In the unlikely event that you are still unable to obtain an ETIAS, contact the embassy of the European country you plan to visit for more information.

  • How long is an ETIAS Visa Waiver Valid for?

    Once approved, the ETIAS travel authorization is valid for 3 years. You may use it to visit the Schengen Area multiple times during this period. It is valid to enter any and all of the member countries.

    You can use the ETIAS to spend up to 90 days within any 180-day period in the Schengen Area.

  • How much is the ETIAS application fee?

    According to the latest information, ETIAS registration will cost 7€ when it is launched. This will cover the cost of processing the application. For this fee, you will be able to use your ETIAS for multiple trips to any of the 26 Schengen countries for the next 3 years.

  • Can I apply for ETIAS now?

    No, you cannot apply for the ETIAS visa waiver right now. The online system will go live in 2024. After this, citizens of visa waiver countries must register with ETIAS to visit the Schengen Area of Europe.