Russia to Reintroduce the E-Visa in 2023

| Post by

Russian authorities have announced the decision to restart the electronic visa system. The government will confirm a date for its reintroduction by June 1, 2023.

The Russian E-Visa program was activated in 2020. The online system allowed citizens of eligible countries to obtain a visa for their trip to Russia completely online.

The new visa was suspended shortly after its release date in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, which seriously affected international travel. Many countries chose to temporarily shut down their E-Visa programs to help control the number of foreign arrivals.

Now that COVID-19 has become more manageable, the Russian Government has decided to ease its visa policy to encourage visitors once again.

In addition to the reinstated online visa, authorities have also announced they will extend visa-free travel to more countries and simplify entry requirements for others.

Russia to Reintroduce the E-Visa in 2023

Who Will Be Eligible for the Russia E-Visa?

Originally, EU passport holders plus 27 other nationalities were eligible to apply for the Russian online visa. The list was as follows:

  • European Union citizens
  •  Bahrain
  •  China
  •  Iceland
  •  India
  •  Indonesia
  •  Iran
  •  Japan
  •  Kuwait
  •  Liechtenstein
  •  Malaysia
  •  Mexico
  •  Monaco
  •  North Korea
  •  North Macedonia
  •  Norway
  •  Oman
  •  Philippines
  •  San Marino
  •  Saudi Arabia
  •  Serbia[a]
  •  Singapore
  •  Switzerland
  •  Taiwan
  •  Turkey
  •  Vatican City

The future list of eligible countries for the Russia E-Visa has not yet been finalized, however the government have stated that it will be inaccessible to citizens of most Western countries.

Foreign Minister, Sergei Lavrov, was quoted as saying:

“I don’t believe there will be any issues for friendly states.”

Additional Changes to Russia’s Visa Policy

Russian authorities have also announced they will introduce visa-free entry for 11 new nations. The exact states are yet to be confirmed.

The Russian visa requirements for 6 other countries will also be eased. These states include India and Indonesia.

Related News

  • Night view of St Basil's cathedral in Moscow

    A senior official in the Russian government has confirmed that a Russian electronic visa for 53 nationalities will launch next year, greatly simplifying the process of applying for a visa for the country. Russian Deputy Foreign Minister Yevgeny Ivanov announced that the new electronic visa system will come into effect on January 1st, 2021, and

    Read full article
  • St Basils cathedral Russia

    Applicants for the new electronic visas for Russia have been advised to carefully complete the online application forms to guarantee they can enter the country. Citizens of over 50 countries have been able eligible to apply for a Russia eVisa for the St. Petersburg, Kaliningrad and Far East regions since late 2019. To obtain an

    Read full article
  • st petersburg and leningrad evisa

    Russia is implementing a new electronic visa for St. Petersburg and the Leningrad region, government officials have confirmed. The new eVisa for Russia’s capital and the surrounding region will be launched from October 1st and will permit travel to Leningrad Oblast for tourism, business, or humanitarian reasons. The introduction of the Russia online visa for

    Read full article
  • e-Visa to visit St Petersburg available from October

    Russian President Vladimir Putin has authorized the implementation of the new e-Visa for the Russian Federation that will allow foreign travelers to enter the country and visit St. Petersburg and the Leningrad region. It’s expected that the e-Visa for St. Petersburg will be launched in October 2019. This global visa information seems to confirm the

    Read full article