Discover the requirements to apply for the ASEAN common visa, who is eligible for this electronic visa, and how to submit a simple application online.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations has not yet launched the ASEAN visa. More details will be available closer to the date of implementation. Please check the ASEAN website for further information.

The ASEAN visa is an electronic visa developed by the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). Also known as the ASEAN common visa (ACV) it is due to be launched in the near future and will be available through a simple online application.

Once implemented, the visa will allow the holder to visit any of the 10 ASEAN member countries during its validity. On this page, you can find all of the information currently available about this upcoming online visa, the requirements that travelers will need to meet, and how to submit an application in a matter of minutes from the comfort of your own home.

ASEAN Visa Information

The ASEAN visa is being implemented with the aim of facilitating tourist and business travel between all of the countries that make up the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

The improved interconnectivity offered by the common visa is expected to boost the number of tourist arrivals in the entire economic union by as many as 6-10 million per year. This could result in the generation of an estimated $12 billion in tourist revenue for the ASEAN countries, creating significant numbers of new jobs in the tourist industries of member states, promoting economic growth, and reducing poverty in the region.

The ASEAN common visa is also expected to strengthen the borders of the economic union by pre-screening tourist arrivals before entry to the Association. As a result, it will also help to reduce transational crime and undocumented migrants in the area

ASEAN Visa Policy

Each of the 10 ASEAN member states currently maintain their own visa policies. However, the introduction of the ASEAN single visa is a step towards a common visa policy similar to that of the countries in the European Schengen Area (read about ETIAS).

The launch of the ASEAN visa requires the member states to more closely align their visa policies and adopt a common application method. Once it is implemented, it is expected that the visa will allow the holder to spend the same amount of time in every ASEAN country.

Although it is currently necessary to obtain a different visa to visit each of the ASEAN member states, holders of an approved common visa will be able to enter all 10 countries in the Association as though they were a single destination.

ASEAN countries

At present, the 10 countries in the ASEAN economic union are as follows:

ASEAN Countries

  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Cambodia
  • Indonesia
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

ASEAN Visa Requirements

Once launched, the ACV will be available though a simple online application that eligible citizens can complete in a matter of minutes. The ASEAN visa form can be submitted online from anywhere in the world. The simplified application method removes the need for travelers to visit embassies or consulates to obtain a visa for each ASEAN country.

It is expected that an ASEAN visa application will be quickly processed, within a few business days. Once approved, the visa will be sent to the applicant via email. You can then print a copy to present upon arrival in any ASEAN member state.

The main requirement to apply for an ASEAN visa will be the need to have an electronic device with internet connection. You will also need:

  • A valid passport from an eligible country
  • A credit or debit card to pay the ASEAN eVisa fee
  • A valid email address at which to receive the approved visa

As the ASEAN visa has not yet been launched, it is likely that additional requirements may be added in the lead-up to its introduction. Therefore, you should check this page for an updated list of requirements for the online visa closer to the date of implementation.

Passports Eligible for the ASEAN Visa

The list of countries eligible for the ASEAN visa has not yet been finalized and will be announced in full closer to the launch date. Please check this page for the full updated list of eligible passports once it has been made available.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations

ASEAN includes some of the fastest-growing economies in the world. The 600-million combined population of the union makes it the 3rd-largest market worldwide.

The Association was established with the aim of increasing intergovernmental cooperation. It is composed of 3 branches:

  • The ASEAN economic community
  • The ASEAN security community
  • The ASEAN socio-cultural community.

The organization operates with the following primary aims and objectives:

  • Accelerating economic growth, social progress, and cultural development in all of the ASEAN countries
  • Promoting regional peace, collaboration, and mutual assistance across the union
  • Collaboration among member states in improvements in agriculture and other industries
  • Promoting Southeast Asian studies
  • Maintaining close cooperation with other international organizations with similar objectives, such as the European Union.

The introduction of the ASEAN visa is expected to bolster the economic and cultural bonds within the union by further promoting the secure and easy movement of people between member states.

ASEAN Members

The history of ASEAN dates back to the founding of the Association of Southeast Asia (ASA) in July 1961. This organization was composed of 3 countries:

  • Thailand
  • The Philippines
  • The Federation of Malaya.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations was established in August 1967 with the ASEAN Declaration. This agreement was signed by the foriegn ministers of 5 countries in the region; Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand.

Over the next few decades, the Association increased its membership with the addition of Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, and Myanmar (formerly Burma). The current list of ASEAN countries was finalized in 1999 when Cambodia became a member of the union.

ASEAN Visa-free Agreement

Under a common agreement signed in 2002, all citizens of ASEAN countries are granted visa exemption to other member states. Visa-free entry among ASEAN nationals is granted for short stays for purposes of tourism, visiting friends and family, or business activities.

To gain access at a border checkpoint, it is only necessary to present a passport issued by an ASEAN country. However, the passport must be valid for at least 6 months from the date of entry.

The period of visa-exempt stay permitted in an ASEAN Country for citizens of a member state is a minimum of 14 days, as decreed under the common agreement. However, each member of ASEAN remains free to decide its own visa policy. Accordingly, a visa-free stay of up to 30 days is permitted in some countries in the union, including Malaysia, the Philippines, and Singapore.

ASEAN visa exemption is also granted to a number of varying third-country nationals depending on the individual visa policy of each member state. The visa-free stay permitted depends on the traveler’s nationality as well as the specific Southeast Asian country they wish to visit.

All foreign nationals who require a visa to visit an ASEAN country currently need to apply for a seperate travel authorization to enjoy a stay in each individual member state. However, once the ASEAN visa is launched, they can obtain a single visa to visit all of the countries in the economic union.

Visa Requirements Checker

Select nationality
Select destination